Welcome to the Board's Website

The Board and Its Functions

The Board of Trustees is granted the ultimate authority under the original charter of Tougaloo College to “ . . . appoint a President of the College, together with professors and instructors as may at any time be necessary to form an efficient faculty for the instruction of students in the arts and sciences, in the learned professions and in all of the branches of liberal and professional education, as in the best colleges and universities in the world “. Other functions of the Board, as accorded in the Bylaws, include the authority to enact policies that govern the College’s operations.  The Board of Trustees assigns to the President the responsibility for the day to day financial, administrative and academic affairs of the College.

The Board of Trustees shall consist of no more than thirty members, each of whom, with the exception of the appointed members, shall be elected by action of the Board of Trustees.

Presidential Search Updates

February 7, 2019

As you know from previous reports of the presidential search committee, the final phase of our
search includes an invitation for our finalist candidates to visit the campus. We are pleased to
announce that we have invited the following two finalists (see attached biographical summaries)
to visit the campus:
Melva Williams, PhD – Monday, February 11, 2019
Carmen Walters, PhD – Tuesday, February 12, 2019

January 17, 2019


DATE:           Wednesday, January 16, 2019

TO:               Members of the Tougaloo College Campus Community

December 10, 2018

The search for the next President of Tougaloo College is progressing on schedule. The search committee met most recently on December 3, and selected a short list of candidates whose background and experience seem especially consistent with the qualities and qualifications established for the search. At this time, committee members are interviewing references for these candidates.

August 22, 2018

Dr. Beverly W. Hogan has served as president of Tougaloo College since May 2002 and will retire on June 30, 2019. She is the 13th President and first woman to lead this historic institution.