The Division of Natural Science provides education for three types of students: (1) those who want to obtain the Bachelor of Science degree in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Physics, Mathematics, or Mathematics with an emphasis in Computer Science; (2) all students, as part of their liberal arts education; and (3) secondary education students who are focusing on one of the disciplines mentioned above. Because of the increasingly important role of science and technology in society, the course offerings of the Division of Natural Sciences are a vital part of the liberal arts education. General education courses in the Division are designed to relate basic principles of science in nature and to see the impact of technology on society. The rationale of the scientific method, analytical reasoning, and computational analysis is emphasized.

Majors

Graduates of the following majors will be prepared to attend graduate schools or related professional schools (e.g., medical, dental, pharmacy, allied health schools), to work in industry, or to prepare for other fields (e.g., teaching, management, law).

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
    • Chemistry Secondary Education
  • Mathematics
    • Mathematics Secondary Education
    • Mathematics/Computer Science
  • Physics
    • Physics Education
  • Computer Science

Students in the Division of Natural Science are afforded the opportunity to participate in dual degree programs with several institutions, in areas such as Engineering, Pre-Nursing, and Dentistry.

Research

Below are research programs within the Natural Science Division:

Students in the Division of Natural Science are afforded the opportunity to participate in dual degree programs with several institutions, in areas such as Engineering, Pre-Nursing, and Dentistry.

Contact

Division of Natural Science

Jinghe Mao, Ph.D.
Division Dean
Professor, Biology
  601-977-4450
  jmao@tougaloo.edu

Marquita Watkins
Administrative Assistant
Lab Coordinator
  601-977-7794
  mwatkins@tougaloo.edu

Biology Department

Scharri Walker, Ph.D.
Biology Chair
Assistant Professor, Biology
  601-977-7780
  swalker@tougaloo.edu

Linden Haynes, Ph.D.
Professor, Biology
  601-977-7892
  lhaynes@tougaloo.edu

Lianna Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biology
  601-977-7795
  lli@tougaloo.edu

Chemistry/Physics Department

George Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Division Dean
Chemistry/Physics Chair
  601-977-7785
  garmstrong@tougaloo.edu

Santanu Banerjee, Ph.D.
Professor, Physics
  601-977-7789
  sbanerjee@tougaloo.edu

Pradip Biswas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Physics
  601-977-7788
  pbiswas@tougaloo.edu

Manilang Feng
Associate Professor, Chemistry
  601-977-7790
  mfeng@tougaloo.edu

Richard McGinnis, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry
Pre-Health Advisor
  601-977-7782
  rmcginnis@tougaloo.edu

Bidisha Sengupta, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chemistry
  601-977-7779
  bsengupta@tougaloo.edu

Rajendar Trehan, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry
  601-977-7792
  rtrehan@tougaloo.edu

Math/Computer Science Department

Sharron Streeter
Math/Computer Science Chair
Associate Professor
phone  601-977-7760
  sstreeter@tougaloo.edu

Fatissa Allen
Instructor, Mathematics
  601-977-7777
  fallen@tougaloo.edu

Caixia Chen
Assistant Professor, Mathematics
  601-977-7856
  cchen@tougaloo.edu

Glake Hill
Associate Professor, Mathematics
  601-977-7776
  ghill@tougaloo.edu

Xiuquan Wang
Assistant Professor, Mathematics
phone  601-977-6141
  xwang@tougaloo.edu

Jackson Heart Study

Kisa K. Harris, MPH
Biostatistics/Epidemiology Instructor-Researcher
Jackson Heart Study Undergraduate Training and Education Center (JHS UTEC)
  601-977-7754
  kkharris1@tougaloo.edu

Amel Mohamed
Epidemiologist/Jackson Heart Study Undergraduate Training Center
Student Coordinator
  601-977-7781
  aemohamed@tougaloo.edu